Gold Rush Mining Town
The history of Julian, CA is rich and exciting. Originally a mining camp when gold was discovered in 1869 at Coleman Creek, town Founder Drue Bailey named Julian after his cousin Mike Julian, who was later elected San Diego County Assessor. Nestled between the North end of the Cuyamaca Range and the South end of the Volcan Mountain, Julian’s proximity to San Diego, CA and its unique ecosystem makes it a prime tourist destination and a still-vibrant farming community specializing in apples, other produce, and cattle. Julian is a Designated Historic District.
A.E. “Fred” Coleman, a former slave, traveled West in 1869 to follow the California Gold Rush and came to a creek containing what is known as “placer gold.” He named the creek Coleman Creek, and it is just west of Julian’s town center. Coleman went on to establish the Coleman Mining District. The area that grew up around Coleman Creek’s mining camp was called Emily City but was later renamed Coleman City.
The town of Julian, located East of the Coleman camps grew quickly to service the needs of the over 300 miners located in the area – sporting a few hotels, over 50 homes, a number of saloons, a schoolhouse, and at least 4 stores.